top of page
  • Writer's pictureryanventer2

Day 52

Ever heard of a "fartlek?" If you're a seasoned runner, I'm sure you have either run a fartlek, or have heard of it. Well, today I had an 8 mile run, but it wasn't just any typical, normal run. It was a fartlek!


A fartlek is basically a training run mixing periods of fast running, and periods of slow running. I started with a two mile warmup run at around an 8:30 pace, and when I reached the end of my second mile, I started the mix of fast and slow runs for the next five miles. For one minute I ran at a very fast pace, and then as soon as that minute was up, I'd immediately slow down for the next minute and go into a recovery pace. It was nice to try something a little different for me, especially on a longer run.


Also, tonight I watched "The Iron Cowboy" on Netflix, a documentary on James Lawrence, and his quest to run 50 Ironman triathlons in 50 states on 50 days. Like anything else, there is some controversy mixed in, but if you're looking for an interesting documentary, take a look.


Today's run - 8 miles, 1:09:45 (8:43 pace)


Next run - Friday, 6 miles






24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page